Te Kaha

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand

  • Typologies


  • Building Activities

    Concerts, Events, Rugby, Soccer

  • Services


  • Completion


Christchurch is poised to become the South Island’s foremost sporting and entertainment destination with construction well underway on Te Kaha, Canterbury’s multi-use arena.

CHALLENGE. The $683 million facility is designed to represent a landmark endeavour that redefines the city’s cultural and recreational experience. The multi-use arena was sanctioned by the New Zealand Government and Christchurch City Council. Under the guidance of the Kōtui consortium, led by multidisciplinary contractor BESIX Watpac and supported by industry leaders such as Mott MacDonald, Warren and Mahoney and global stadium design experts Populous, Te Kaha is primed to be a true icon in Christchurch’s urban landscape.

INNOVATION. This distinguished arena will boast a seating capacity of 30,000 for sports events with the provision for expansion during special events. Te Kaha’s fully enclosed roof ensures year-round functionality, irrespective of weather conditions, setting it apart as one of only two stadia globally with this feature. Te Kaha’s flexible layout accommodates a diverse range of sports and entertainment, from high-intensity rugby matches to internationally acclaimed concert performances. Whether a grand spectacle or an intimate community gathering, this venue is tailored to host events of all scales.

IMAPCT. As a proud member of the Kōtui consortium, Populous is dedicated to infusing Te Kaha with Christchurch’s indomitable spirit and resilience. This design promises a world-class, multipurpose space that will draw major sporting and entertainment events to the city. Construction commenced in 2022 with Te Kaha due to be completed in 2026. This momentous project is poised to re-establish Christchurch as a global destination for top-tier sporting, entertainment, and cultural affairs, captivating locals and tourists alike.

Project Team
Connect with the designers

Chris Paterson

Joshua Robson

Andrew Rieper

Chris Hutchison

Daniel Bartlett

Ben Stacey

Sean Chidgey

Karen Halagao

Nathan Tobeck

Daniel Joseph

Sebastian Chu